S.E.A. of Galilee Fellowship Study

Home » Basic Christianity » John 10:10-18 – Filled Out

John 10:10-18 – Filled Out

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives

Categories

Good shepherd

Image via Wikipedia

S = Scripture:  John 10:10-18  (GOD’S WORD Translation)

10A thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy. But I came so that my sheep will have life and so that they will have everything they need.

 11“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives his life for the sheep. 12A hired hand isn’t a shepherd and doesn’t own the sheep. When he sees a wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and quickly runs away. So the wolf drags the sheep away and scatters the flock. 13The hired hand is concerned about what he’s going to get paid and not about the sheep.

 14“I am the good shepherd. I know my sheep as the Father knows me. My sheep know me as I know the Father. 15So I give my life for my sheep. 16I also have other sheep that are not from this pen. I must lead them. They, too, will respond to my voice. So they will be one flock with one shepherd. 17The Father loves me because I give my life in order to take it back again. 18No one takes my life from me. I give my life of my own free will. I have the authority to give my life, and I have the authority to take my life back again. This is what my Father ordered me to do.”

E = Explanation

The way we know who it is we need to follow is by their motives evidenced by his or her actions.  Satan and evil come to steal kill and destroy.  Jesus not only came to give us life but to be willing to die a terrible and miserable death to give us eternal life.  It was not even taken from him, but he gave it up willingly for all of us.

The true followers of Jesus know his calling out to us and what he wants each of us to do.  We know his divine voice. 

A = Application:

I must be appreciative and thankful for what Jesus did for me and listen for his voice (whatever that sounds like) speaking to me in various ways to learn his voice.  I also must focus on obeying his voice as I hear it.

1 Comment

  1. This makes perfect sense to anyone!!!

Leave a Reply

