S.E.A. of Galilee Fellowship Study

Home » Church » The Way My Child Receives the Kingdom

The Way My Child Receives the Kingdom

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives

Categories

English: Jesus Christ with children

English: Jesus Christ with children (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 The Way My Child Receives the Kingdom

Mark 10:15 GOD’S WORD Translation (GW)  –  15 I can guarantee this truth: Whoever doesn’t receive the kingdom of God as a little child receives it will never enter it.”

I had a couple of conversations over the last few days where people were explaining why one church is better than this church or that church.  So rather than get caught in trying to compare which mega-church was better than the other or which local church was better than any mega church, I started asking the tough questions about church in general that many of us have found ourselves asking.  Later in these conversations (once the person was curious about some of these same points) I would ask the person what his or her perfect church would look like.

Many of the responses were the same old: expert up front and only big enough for me to be noticed kind of answers.

So I was about to type away at a post when my thirteen year old interrupted me with questions about the algebra he is working on to get ready for back to school.  Suddenly it dawned on me:  As many of these conversations as I have been having lately, I have never really talked about any of this with him.

So I threw out the question without any warning (which, I am sure was a welcome break from algebra review anyway):  “What would your perfect church look like?

He started off pretty basic with:

A small church where everybody knows everybody and everything would be more personal. 

I immediately asked him what he would do if the church grew too big for him?  He responded without much thought that;  “I would have to find another church.”  I really wanted to get into a deep conversation about the Great Commission and how a good church would be drawing in new converts constantly etc. but I knew that this would ruin the complete honesty he was sharing with.

He continued; “Not overly christiany…  you know…” 

So I completed the sentence by saying, “Not too religious and christianeese”

He then said, “Yeah, more modern and normal.”

I was intrigued that a youthful view of what we do in the traditional church (particularly since the traditional church we attend is an ultramodern, high-tech church in the Silicon Valley).  The words that naturally came out of his mouth implied that the model most of us are used to is not modern and definitely not whatever normal is.  In other words primitive and very strange. Which also equates to:  Not very inviting to the generation that is moving their way into adulthood next or in other words:  OUT OF TOUCH. 

God however is not out of touch with that generation as evidenced by the fact that (at least in this case) there is an idea of what it would look like to better reach this generation.  Keep in mind he had no time to ponder the deeper issues or contemplate the right answer etc.  He didn’t even know that I was going to post this online until it dawned on him that I was typing his answers as he spoke and asked why.   He had some very definite ideas about the gatherings that I thought were very interesting and worthy of careful consideration.

A Celebration Service:

He was very clear that there would be worship and that it would have to be contemporary worship.   I was intrigued by this as I was expecting him to say something like a mixture of worship styles that would include contemporary but also R&B, Gospel, Rock and some rap worship etc. but he simply wanted the worship to be “like the music they play on KLOVE

He was clear that there should be no offering just a box at the back.  I asked him why and he responded:  …that way people don’t have to feel uncomfortable.  It’s uncomfortable when people are passing a bucket and you don’t have anything to put in it.  Everyone is just looking at you pass the bucket.”  My mind immediately referred back to being on staff at a church and seeing the numbers.  Facing the painful truth that only when pressured do most people give.  Even those who are on and on about tithing and giving more in the offering tend to be slack unless pressured (with the ever-powerful trip to Malachi 3:8), or unless guilt is present or unless overwhelmed with some amazing project that God has the church undertaking (because of tax law in the Unites States churches have records of who gave what and when).

I really never tripped too much on what others think if I just pass the bucket on, but in thinking about it, that is another tool to apply pressure.  I fear if you take out all of the pressures etc., in our context many of the buildings that house these churches would have to be sold and many of the churches (and some of the pastors) would find themselves homeless.  

He was very specific that he would prefer there be no announcements, but after a moment of thought decided upon only most necessary announcements.  That means the announcements at our church service drive him crazy (as they do me).  I thought it was just me.

I asked him what he thought about communion in the service and he said that it would be done once a month,

He was very clear that, basically there would be worship and preaching by the head pastor and the service would be an hour long (up to an hour and a half at the longest).

He did want there to be video of the service but only taping of the pastor.  No crowd shots or shots of individuals in the crowd so nobody feels obligated to do anything or act in any special way because of the cameras.

He was also clear that there would have to have a kids room or building to separate kids from the service with a youth pastor that would preach, but preach at their level.   

He was also specific that there would be prayer by small groups after service.  So I asked, “How would you break the crowd into groups?”  He responded:  “It would be the small groups that meet during the week” as if that were just a standard assumption and was a stupid question.  Wow, now you’re peaking my interest I thought.  So I asked, where would these groups meet?  He said very matter-of-factly:  “In somebody’s home.” 

So I asked him to explain what would happen in these groups.

The first thing that came out of his mouth was that “…the small groups meeting at houses would be a better place for people to deal with more personal issues that they definitely wouldn’t deal with at the worship service.” 

Then I asked what else they would do at these meetings and he said,  “At the small groups they would review whatever the pastor discussed.” 

So I asked, “what do you mean?” 

He said,  “They would give opinions on what each thinks the pastor said and what it means to them.” 

He added that some Sunday nights, he would like them to have movie nights at the church, where those who wish would watch a movie at the church and receive handouts listing a few key points to discuss that week at the small groups.

I couldn’t hold off my theological question from the very beginning of the conversation any longer, so I sprung it on him:  “You said if the church grows too much, you would just leave and find another one.  If a church is supposed to be seeking new believers constantly and getting them involved in the church would the church by design be growing?  Isn’t growing what they are supposed to do?”  He pondered that for a second and then I added something about if a church is not growing isn’t it not doing what it is supposed to do.

He simply said that once it reached a certain size I would just separate and start another church.

This all opened the door to a deeper discussion on the topic of what church is etc. and we had a great time discussing the concept and reading my previous blog posts, which he had not yet seen. 

I share all of this because I think I gives a glimpse of what even the teenage mind that is not really all into church growth and what church should and shouldn’t be desires in all of it’s simplicity.  I also share this because it shows a lot of what is putting off a generation including those that love the Lord, like my son.  I hope it is food for thought and blessed conversation.

As far as the verse that I opened with,  I think it is important that we all look at how our children receive Christ and what they are drawn to in their walks and consider if there is a divine impartation of wisdom involved.

 Mark 10:15 GOD’S WORD Translation (GW)  –  15 I can guarantee this truth: Whoever doesn’t receive the kingdom of God as a little child receives it will never enter it.”

Just as an added tidbit.  After that discussion, my wife called and wanted us to meet her for Chinese food, so we happily left behind our pontificating and chugged on down to our favorite place to stuff ourselves to this gills with MSG.  At the end of our meal, I opened my fortune cookie and found a sentence that I think should be the battle cry of every church and how every church determines what it does and does not do.  That fortune cookie wisdom was:

ENGAGE IN GROUP ACTIVITIES THAT FURTHER TRANSFORMATION!

 

Be blessed in group activities that further your transformation,

W. Lawrence Hess

1 Comment

  1. […] my son about his perception of what it would take for him to have the perfect church experience.  (The Way My Child Receives the Kingdom pt. 1)  Some of what transpired today and a new conversation on the issue have come together to […]

Leave a Reply

